Simple Birthday Cards

I was out of town last week, so I didn’t get a chance to share new blog posts. I make a few cards last Tuesday, before I left, but was limited on time so I went with simple, less fussy cards and here are the results.

I’ll admit, this first card’s layout was not completely my idea.  Normally, unless I am taking a card class, all my card designs come from my mind but I don’t think there’s anything wrong with finding inspiration from others’ cards.  That’s why I share my cards with you!  Anyway, this card design was inspired by Rae Barthel‘s “Funky Birthday Card” on page 64 of the March/April 2010 Paper Crafts magazine.  I used some scrap DCWV glittery floral paper, a rub-on sentiment, some sticky gems, hot pink DCWV paper, and my new baby pink saddle stitch ribbon for this card:

Sweet "Happy Birthday" card

Sweet "Happy Birthday" card

For this next card, my plan was to use this pretty pearl and black gem embellishment I bought from a vendor at the CK Convention last November.  I love CTMH‘s Silhouette paper, so I used part of a sheet from that set as well as some pretty ribbon in the same color.  I didn’t have an elegant “happy birthday” stamp in the large size I needed, and the alphabet stamps I ordered hadn’t arrived yet, so I just grabbed a ZIG marker and wrote it by hand.  I distressed the edges with a CTMH bamboo ink pad and pulled it all together on black card stock.  This card was intended for a friend of mine and after I wrote in her card, I realized this was her 50th birthday!  I guess the black was appropriate, but I really didn’t know her age when I made this easy card:

Birthday Wishes

Birthday Wishes

It feels like these two simple cards went by faster because I didn’t stamp.  I enjoy stamping, but searching for the right stamp, ink, paper, and cutting it out adds a few minutes to a project.  I suppose these cards show that it’s possible to make nice cards without taking a lot of time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 19:04:12

    Nice cards again! I especially love the black & white pearl Birthday card! I always look through magazines and books also to get inspired :) It’s funny how you can look at someone’s cards and be inspired, but the end result sometimes looks nothing like theirs.

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Jun 07, 2010 @ 20:43:34

      Awww, thanks! That is so true about inspiration from others. If you saw the card I looked at when I came up with my card, you may not even see that the card was inspired by it. She used a black and bold large floral color scheme.

      Reply

  2. Kelly Marie
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 14:33:01

    Beautiful cards!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

