How to Emboss Foil with the Cuttlebug

I am thankful for my blog readers who post comments here, on Facebook, or by email and provide me with ideas for blog posts.  Today’s blog post stemmed from comments by readers Deborah and Danielle.  Ladies, this is for you!

Here is a video that demonstrates how easy it is to emboss regular kitchen / aluminum foil using a Cuttlebug and an embossing folder.  That’s right – you don’t need to spend money on expensive “craft foil” to achieve this look!  Which embossing folders you think would look nice using foil?  I like geometric shapes and semi-masculine emboss folders for silver backgrounds.

I think the best way to carefully adhere a foiled background would be to lay plenty of strips of snail adhesive (a permanent adhesive runner) down on the card JudiKins Diamond Glaze.  I adhered the background in the frog card with Diamond Glaze and I used snail adhesive for the motorcycle card.  Here is the card I made right after making the video for you!  This is the background piece I made:

Frog card made with aluminum foil

Frog card made with aluminum foil

Motorcycle card made with foil

Motorcycle card made with foil

Well, happy crafting, everyone!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 15:21:54

    Awesome! Thanks for showing this. I need to get some embossing templates. I just have dies for my zip e mate, but no embossing folders.

    Reply

  2. Jayma
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 21:45:34

    Wonderful tutorial, thanks for creating and posting it! Love that motorcycle card…the foil is the perfect touch! That impressibilities is really pretty…I hope you were able to get all the foil out. haha! I’ll let ya know when I try this technique.

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 17:42:04

      Yes, I finally cleaned the thing out but it was a hard lesson to learn not to use it with foil. :) I will have to try using it with paper sometime. Do you find you have stamps and things you haven’t used yet? That’s me. I will remedy that but sometimes life gets in the way of crafts. *sigh* ;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

