A Black and White Birthday

As much as I enjoy making cards, sometimes I don’t have an hour to devote to one card.  That’s why I am so thankful for DCWV boxed card and envelope sets.  I was running out of time in October and needed to make a card for a special friend and I was able to make an elegant card in a few minutes.

I stamped a sentiment using a Stampin’ Up! cling stamp and softened the edges with an ink pad and a sponge.  I framed it in black cardstock and bumped it out with double-sided foamy mount tape; tied a Close to My Heart ribbon around it and added two pretty paper flowers.  Voila!  An elegant black and white card to be proud of.  Sometimes I feel like I’ve cheated when a card comes together quickly by taking a shortcut.  What do you think about using decorative card bases to build your design on?

Black and White Beauty

Black and White Beauty

Thanks for reading my blog post, and enjoy your weekend!

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 13:34:47

    Oooh….I love it! So elegant! Even though this is a DCWV card, it would be fun to look through my grayish cardstock and try stamping an image on it. Thanks for the great idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

