Welcome to my Blog!

For years I’ve created special invitations and hand-made cards.  I’ve either kept a sample for my portfolio or taken digital photos of nearly everything I’ve made.  I also took up knitting mid-2007 and enjoy making scarves, hats, spiders, blankets and other yarn creations.  I wasn’t sure what I’d do with all my pictures – use them for reference and inspiration for future creations?  Sure, why not.  I think the main reason I take pictures of everything is so I can remember them.  If I didn’t have pictures of the hundreds of cards or all the hats & scarves I’d made, I’d probably think I’d only made 20 cards and knit two things.  Photos really help preserve memories.

Through social networking, I’ve made new friends and have enjoyed sharing a handful of pictures of my cards at Picasa, Facebook, and TwitPic (on Twitter).  For a moment, I thought a Facebook group or fan page would be a good place to display my art, but then I polled my friends and most of them said to just share things on my profile page.  I was content with that until a Twitter friend suggested I create a blog.

So… here I am!  I have no idea how regularly I will publish something because I already spend an hour per day writing my real estate blog.  Hopefully, I’ll do a quick post after I create a card or knit something.  I plan to use this blog to share and bring you photos of my creations to give you ideas, inspire you, and make you laugh.

Thanks for stopping by.  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayma
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 04:46:04

    welcome to the crafty blogosphere 🙂

    Reply

  2. Genevieve
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 17:35:06

    I can’t wait to see some knitting as it’s especially close to my heart. Are you on Ravelry? If so, I’m genevievegm. Look me up!

    Reply

  3. dawsondesigns
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 21:12:10

    Thanks Jayma and Genny! I think I was invited to Ravelry but never signed in. I was waiting so long for an invite. I’ll have to check my Gmail for the invite and if I still have one, I’ll find you! I don’t know if I qualify as a “real” knitter, though. I knit with…. (wait for it)…

    knitting looms.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

