Three New Cards

It’s April Fool’s Day!  I’m not known as a prankster, but I did grow up in a happy household with loving, funny parents.  Anyone who knows my father and I would say I get my odd sense of humor from him.  As funny as I like to be, I don’t typically pull April Fool’s pranks.  I don’t like making fun of people or embarrassing them… but there was this one time that I pulled quite a prank!  I have posted the whole story on my other blog site.  So, if you’d like to read about my prank, please click on April Fool’s Joke.

Like many crafters, I don’t have as many opportunities to craft as I’d like.  I was happy to make some time last night to make some cards before bedtime.  Here are the three cards I created for specific people.  Unless I am taking a card class, all the cards I make are custom and tailored to the specific person the card is for.  I enjoy thinking about the person as I create a card for them and any card-maker will tell you that the part that takes the longest is coming up with a card design!  I should probably spend more time reading blogs to get card layout ideas.

My three latest cards

My three latest cards

Making masculine cards for men is such a challenge for me!  I love floral stamps and for most men, this is not appealing for their cards.  I wanted to make a nice “thank you” card for a business partner who treated me to coffee the other day.  After some thought, here is what I came up with for his card, below.  I used a rubber brayer and rolled it over my giant ink pad in order to create a custom background behind the silhouette stamp.  I love my paper piercer, so I used that to poke holes on the sides.  I lightly distressed the edges of the teal cardstock with a sanding file.

Blue toned masculine thank you card

Blue toned masculine thank you card

Supplies Used:

Rubber Stampede “Winter Woods” stamp / CTMH Alphabets stamp set / Big and Juicy “Waterfall” raised felt pad / JoAnn Craft Essentials black brads / Tsukineko VersaFine Onyx Black ink / Stampin’ Up! paper piercer / Provo Craft “Cricut Rainbow” textured dual-tone cardstock / Conqueror Diamond White 118.3# cardstock

Next, I made a cheery thank you card for a new friend who took me to lunch yesterday:

Whimsical Floral Thank You Card

Whimsical Floral Thank You Card

Supplies Used:

CTMH Alphabets stamp set / K & Co. floral stickers / ZIG black marker / Yellow craft buttons from Boxer Scrapbook Productions, LLC / CTMH Tiny Tabs /Dew Drop VersaMagic “Tea Leaves” Chalk Ink / Tsukineko VersaFine Onyx Black ink / Cosmo Cricket “Material Girl” paper / Conqueror Diamond White 118.3# cardstock

Finally, I ended the card-making evening with a birthday card for a friend who shares the same birthday as my husband.  My husband will have you know that he is younger than the woman I made this card for.

Cake Birthday Card

Cake Birthday Card

Supplies Used:

Savvy Stamps “Slice of Cake” (probably my favorite stamp!) / Stampin’ Up! Well Scripted “Happy Birthday” stamp / Floral jewel from JoAnn Fabrics & Crafts / Red printer paper from Wal-Mart / COPIC Ciao Markers: BG10, R27, YG11, Y17, E37 / atyou Spica Glitter pens in Gold & Baby Blue / Paper Scraps from Memory Box paper, I think / Tsukineko VersaFine Onyx Black ink / Conqueror Diamond White 118.3# cardstock

Thanks for reading my post and enjoy the rest of your April Fool’s day!  Bye – I’m off to go see Lights and Owl City in concert at the Paramount Theatre in Seattle now, woohoo!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina moss
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 17:33:04

    Cute cards! I love that you take the time to personalize. I have been finding some great card blogs. I will have to send you a couple of my favorite links.

    Reply

  2. dawsondesigns
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 16:05:08

    Thanks so much, Tina! Yes, please share your favorite blogs with me. Is there a place where you share all of your crafty creations?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

