Birdhouse in Your Soul

Have you heard the song “Birdhouse in Your Soul” by a band called They Might Be Giants?  No?  Well, you’re missing out on this cute song.  Whenever I make a paper bird house ornament, I think of this happy tune.  I’ll explain more about the bird house in a minute, but first I had to share something with you.

Over the weekend, I went to Target to pick up some cheap candy and some more Dunkin’ Decaf coffee <yum>.  I usually ignore the Dollar section at the front of the store, but something adorable caught my eye and I had to have it.  I bought this sweet felt bag with flowers on it!  It’s just the right size to tote my greeting cards to the office, the church building, or the post office.  I usually hand out or mail my cards in chunks: three one day, or 60 another.

Adorable Floral Bag at Target

Adorable Floral Bag at Target

Now, the bird house explanation.  A few months ago I went to the house of my friend Terry Bolender for Stamp Club night.  She’s a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator and the most creative person I know.  Terry designed the cutest bird houses for us to make ourselves with her craft supplies!  Here is the one I made with her punches, paper, and her milk carton embosser/die.

Birdhouse with Blue Bird - Stampin' Up!

The Original Birdhouse

I thought it was too cute, so I bought the milk carton die at my last card class.  It’s actually called the Stampin’ Up! Sizzix Big Shot BIGZ L Mini Milk Carton, but that’s just a mouthful to type each time.  Anyway, I bought it because I figured instead of buying beautiful Hallmark “First Home” or “New Home” Christmas ornaments for my clients each year, I could make them paper house ornaments!

Here is an ornament I made for a recent house-warming party, and yes – there’s actually a tiny pop-op picture of the family stuck in there:

House Ornament made with Milk Carton Die

House Ornament made with Milk Carton Die

Then over last weekend, I made these little ornaments for my parents and my brother & sister-in-law.  My niece’s bedroom theme is baby birds, so I thought this would look really cute somewhere in the nursery.    I made the birds and the branch with my Cricut Expression Wild Card cartridge:

Spring-Time Birdhouse Ornaments

Spring-Time Birdhouse Ornaments

Thank you for reading my blog – I’m afraid it’s “gone to the birds!”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chelle (hanwayink)
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 15:48:26

    LOVE that song (not surprising) and your house ornaments are super cute! You just gave me a great idea for a hostess project. Thanks!!

    Reply

  2. Christine David
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 15:50:44

    Very cute Stephanie! So far everything on your blog deserves that label as well (of course I have not seen anything you have created that isn’t truly adorable)!

    Reply

  3. dawsondesigns
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 16:03:47

    Thank you both so much! 🙂 These are really easy and fun to do. I think with practice, I can make them more quickly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

