They Come in Threes

Since I’m on a temporary card-making hiatus, I thought I’d share three sympathy cards I recently made for friends who had lost loved ones.  You have probably heard that deaths come in threes, and that was the case for these three sympathy cards I made.  When I need to give a card to man for this purpose, I usually stick with store-bought cards because I don’t have many masculine stamps.  A card with tools stamped all over it just doesn’t convey the right message.  In this case, these three cards were all for women.

I love this ribbon that I found at Michael’s last year!  Oh no, or was it from Jo-Ann Etc.?  I used it for my sister-in-law’s baby shower invitations and if I’d saved the spool packaging, I’d tell you the exact brand.  After stamping the cherry blossom image, I painted it with pearlescent watercolors by Yasutomo.

Cherry Blossom Card

Cherry Blossom Card

The next card I made using my new decorative scallop punch from Stampin’ Up!, along with some craft buttons, ribbon, and dual sided paper.  I used my Copic Ciao markers to color over the stamp.

Stampin' Up Card - Asian Artistry

Stampin' Up Card - Asian Artistry

Finally, I made a card using those Square Stax I always forget about.  The stamp came from Stampin’ Up!, and I used a sentiment from Close to My Heart.  I also used Copic markers to color in the image, and lightly embellished the card with a paper piercer.

Simply Stated: Floral 'Thinking of You'

Simply Stated: Floral 'Thinking of You'

I will update this post later with a list of which products I used.  That part takes the longest and I’m not sure if I need to, but I see other bloggers giving credit, so I feel like I should do the same.

It’s Friday, so enjoy your weekend!!

Leave a Reply

