The Twitter Name Game

During my break from making cards, I found another creative outlet.  I turned my friends’ Twitter IDs into pictures and it became a late night game on Twitter.

When someone opens a free account with Twitter, they must come up with a name for themselves.  At any time, a user may change their ID if they wish.  Some users have short names or uncommon real names they were able to snag.  My name is too long (15 characters) for Twitter and I didn’t care for the leftover variations of my names Twitter suggested.  When I signed up for Twitter in 2008, I didn’t have any idea what I was getting into.  I wasn’t sure I wanted to be found, so I used an old email address I used in the 1990’s as my ID.  Twitter finally “clicked” for me in August 2009, and I’ve really enjoyed connecting with new friends online and meeting some of them face to face.  Seventeen months after signing up, I am still tweeting as “depmodechick” and may of my friends also have chosen not to use their first and last names for their Twitter ID.

My “Twitter Name Game” kicked off last Friday night when I thought about a friend’s real name and how easy it would be to illustrate in pictures.  His name in Antony Mew but he shortens it to Ant:  Ant Mew!  He does not use his real name for his Twitter ID, and I thought it would be fun to have friends guess which Twitter friend this was.  So, over the last few nights I have shared these picture riddles and asked my friends to name the Twitter friend.  I’ve been making the pictures really quickly with images I find online or ones I had in my computer.  Here are all the ones I’ve created so far.  I wish I could get them to rest side by side rather than all in a long row.

Ant Mew

Real Name: Ant Mew

Real Name: Marina Ivory Santana

Real Name: Marina Ivory Santana

Twitter Name: depmodechick

Twitter Name: depmodechick

Twitter Name: rdwnggrl (Red Wing Girl)

Twitter Name: rdwnggrl (Red Wing Girl)

Twitter Name: usaku

Twitter Name: usaku

Twitter Name: designlk

Twitter Name: designlk

Twitter Name: orchidhunter

Twitter Name: orchidhunter

Twitter Name: goatboy91587

Twitter Name: goatboy91587

Twitter Name: misshousegirl

Twitter Name: misshousegirl

Twitter Name: SmithsOCC

Twitter Name: SmithsOCC

Twitter Name: diva_on_wheelz

Twitter Name: diva_on_wheelz

Twitter Name: SeattleStaged

Twitter Name: SeattleStaged

Twitter Name: sweetmd

Twitter Name: sweetmd

I don’t wish to offend anybody with this next one, but I was trying to come up with a way to make it easy for people to guess this friend’s Twitter ID name.  Cripple Creek is city in Colorado, the state where my friend and his BBQ sauce company reside.

Twitter Name: CrippleCreekBBQ

Twitter Name: CrippleCreekBBQ

If you follow me on Twitter, check to see if I’m online between 8:30 – 10:30 pm.  If I do the Twitter Name Game, it will be during those times.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becca
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 17:49:00

    Fun, AND witty 🙂

    Reply

  2. Brett Widmann
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 22:40:47

    I still remember waking up in the morning to find replies and a photo pertaining to my Twitter handle from none other. 😉

    It’s always great to have the creative juices flowing on social networks, especially fun little games or ideas like this.

    I’m very appreciative that you chose me as one of the people in this game.

    Sincerely,

    Brett aka goatboy91587

    Reply

  3. Stephanie Dawson
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 23:32:27

    Thanks guys! I am happy you appreciate the name game and that you enjoy my pictures. 🙂 Brett, with a Twitter name like that, it was ripe for the picking!! I just made 8 more Twitter name pictures tonight so that we can play this game tomorrow – probably around 9 pm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

