Card-Making & Shopping

I started this post at 6:30 pm Monday and at 10:20, the YouTube videos embedded here finally finished uploading.  Wow. 

My husband and I had saved up some money for a fun shopping weekend in Portland, OR and we took the trip last weekend!  Before we left for Oregon, I arranged to meet up with a friend named Dale Chumbley.  I think he sits in front of his computer all day long on Facebook to “poke” people.  Whenever I log in, it says Dale has poked me.  I poke him back and then he immediately pokes me right back!  He does this to everyone, it seems, so when we planned a roadtrip I wanted to make sure we stopped in Vancouver to see Dale.  I made him this card and the funny thing is someone suggested Friday 4/16 (Dale’s 16th wedding anniversary) should be National Poke Dale Chumbley Day and at noon we were all supposed to poke him on Facebook, Twitter, and with text messages.  My card seemed really appropriate when I met him for lunch at Burgerville!

Dale Chumbley's "Poke" Card

Dale Chumbley's "Poke" Card

I made the D-A-L-E with my Cricut Expressions machine and drew the poking hand for the front of the card.  I used some craft wire and coiled it around a thick pen to make a coil so that when I attached it to the hand and the card, it would wiggle!  The image inside was something I found online and after printing and cutting it out of cardstock, I added a few layers of puffy sticky tape to make it bump out.

A friend of mine asked what I bought in Portland, so I made her a video to show everything.  I saved lots of money and hits several sales!  It all began with a trip to Impress Rubber Stamps in Tukwila, WA for their annual 20% off sale – and several things I found were 40% off, yeah!  In Oregon, I went to JoAnn and Craft Warehouse (a cool store I stumbled upon in the JoAnn parking lot).  One of my sweet kitties makes a guest appearance at th beginning and end of this video.  🙂  Hopefully the videos are done processing by the time I post this blog – if the image is fuzzy, please check back later.

I was on a quest to find a specific corner punch and didn’t find one on my shopping weekend, so I went to JoAnn Etc. in Tukwila right before dinner tonight, and I finally found it!!  Everything at JoAnn’s was 40% or 60% off – hooray for good deals!  So, here is what I got this evening:

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dale Chumbley
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 22:47:51

    Stephanie,

    Thank you for the wonderful card and kind post. It really is appreciated. Believe it or not I don’t sit around on my computer *poking* people all day long and the list is smaller than what you might imagine. ;?) It is a lot of fun and a great way to “reach out” and let someone know you’re thinking of them.

    I had a wonderful time at lunch with you and Jake and am thankful he put up with our “Twittertalk” for a while. LOL!

    Anytime you’re coming through town I’m happy to meet up. Next time I’ll get you guys to Whiffies!

    Take care,

    Dale

    Reply

Leave a Reply

