The Heirloom Productions’ Puyallup Rubber Stamp + Paper Arts Festival

Last Saturday, I attended the Heirloom Productions’ Puyallup Rubber Stamp & Paper Arts Festival® at the Puyallup Fairgrounds’ Pavilion.  Wow, that’s a mouthful to say and type!  I was really looking forward to attending this festival (sales expo) for the last year, so it was fun to finally go to this after so long.

For years I’ve crafted alone at home or took an occasional card class at Impress Rubber Stamps with a friend or my sister-in-law, Anne.  It wasn’t until late July that I ever worked on cards with other people.  The few friends I had who enjoyed paper-crafting lived an hour or several hours away from me, so my growing hobby was a lonely one.  Not anymore, though!  Last May 2009, I discovered there was a whole world of rubber-stamp and paper-crafts expos that traveled all over the nation.  I had no idea that such an expo existed, and I was disappointed when I learned that I had just missed out on the Heirloom Festival by a week.

Since missing the Heirloom show last year, I made up for it by attending two expos: the Rubber Stamp & Scrapbook Expo August 1, ’09 in Puyallup and the CK Convention at Meydenbauer Center in Bellevue November 6-7, ’09.

So, here is a video I made for my blog in order to give you a synopsis of my day.  There were many more booths, demonstrations and “make & takes” than my video shows.  I didn’t want to be too obvious with my little camcorder, so I just recorded a few things and I apologize for the amateur, shaky video but I’m new to video-making.  My friends Lori H. and Sandra W. joined me for part of the day so I wasn’t solo the whole time.  It was fun to see my friends Christine David, Alicia Bard with Close to My Heart (CTMH), Johnny Sprada, and I enjoyed seeing Paula Best’s art, and meeting: Lisa Lee with Inchie Arts, local Kim L. Merboth with Stampin’ in the Rain, local artist Nami Nakamura with DeNami Design Rubber Stamps, and another local talent & author: Shirley Rainman with Make an Impression.

This video took ALL night to get uploaded to YouTube, and if it looks murky and fuzzy, please check again later because it’s still processing as I type this at 10:00 pm.

Between making cards, greeting friends, shooting video and eating lunch, I found time to explore and shop!  Here are the goodies I just had to have – lots of cling rubber stamps, Spellbinders Nestabilities, metallic stickers, and I finally bought the Punch-Ins books I had been considering for a year.  I also bought two of the “Best” stacked storage units for housing my 12″ x 12″ paper!  I bought the floor model from the vendor and saved a lot of money.  All in all, it was a really fun and sunny day – one of the best days I’ve had this year.

My Heirloom Show Purchases

My Heirloom Show Purchases

My New Paper Storage Tower!
My New Paper Storage Tower!
7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine David
    May 21, 2010 @ 22:39:49

    You know I think you rock! You are going to be the next Noelle Hyman. It was fun watching you capture all your video. Next time I promise that Alicia and I will have a snazzy handshake or something better to show you. (PS We are going to be showing at the Scrapbook Expo in July thanks to your telling us about it).

    – Christine

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      May 22, 2010 @ 08:24:14

      Thanks Christine! I’ll have to “Google” Noelle to see who you’re talking about … I should probably know her. I’m so glad you’ll be attending the Scrapbook Expo as a vendor! That’s great that there was a booth space available. Feel free to find homes for the entrance tickets I gave you two, or please return them to me if nobody (har har) wants them. 🙂

      Reply

    • Jayma Malme
      May 29, 2010 @ 19:14:07

      OMG, I want that paper tower! I SO need a better way to store my paper but have not found just the right solution yet (granted I haven’t searched for the past year since I have no place to store anything cool in my LA apt). I think this could be the ticket. Although I’d also need several of them. I”ll have to save my $ for the new place.

      Reply

  2. Angela
    May 21, 2010 @ 23:38:34

    SOOOO jealous of that FABULOUS paper tower. I need to get to one of those festivals… 🙂
    Your video was good! was that with your little Flip?!? Nice editing!

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      May 22, 2010 @ 08:36:35

      Wow, you don’t have a paper tower? I’m surprised! But, they are spendy, so I understand. It took me a couple days to get organized and moved into it. I buy DCWV tablets at JoAnn’s and while this tower takes more space, it is SO NICE to grab a chunk of red, flip through it, and find the exact color I need in seconds rather than minutes. My only problem now is realizing I need several more of these towers because I have way too many shades of a hue in one tray. It’s also nice to have my CTMH, SU!, Basic Grey & Cosmo Cricket papers grouped together.

      And thanks re: my editing! Yep, it was done my Flip-cam (as I call it) and the software it comes with. Pretty basic, and nobody seems to like it, but it works for me. I opted to add the Flip logo at the end of the video, too. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Karey Easterwood
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 10:28:35

    Where did you get the paper tower? I love it and desparately need one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

