Detailed Cards Made with Punch-Ins and Crocheted Flowers

About a year ago, I was at a rubber stamp store and was intrigued by two thin books titled “Punch-Ins” and “Punch-Ins Book 2” from Make An Impression. Take a look at them if you ever see them and if you run across the Make An Impression booth at a craft show, by all means visit it!  The beautiful art they create by manipulating punched paper is incredible.

I’m so happy I picked up both books at the Heirloom show recently.  It was very easy to make these beautiful (but time-consuming) cards by following instructions for the flowers and leaves.  Here are the cards I made for some special ladies.  I used my Cricut Expressions machine to cut vases, used K & Company background paper, and various ribbon scraps.  I would have never thought to make the punched paper look 3-dimensional, so these books have really helped get my creative juices flowing.

Flower "Punch-Ins" Cards

Flower "Punch-Ins" Cards

Here is a close-up of one of the cards, so you can see the flowers.  I made them round by running a rounded end of a card creaser (similar to a bone folder) over the flower on the back of a mousepad.  Then with craft tweezers, I folded back the petals of the larger flower and used colorful gems for the center of each flower.

Close up of my "Punch-Ins" flowers

Close up of my "Punch-Ins" flowers

Finally, here is another special card I made today, using some gorgeous flowers my talented Grandma B. made for my card-making!  This is going to a very special past client who became a friend of mine:

My Crocheted Flower Card

My Crocheted Flower Card

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Memorial Day Weekend Card-Making « Cards & Creations by Dawson Designs

Leave a Reply

