Memorial Day Weekend Card-Making

What a productive weekend!  Did you have a good Memorial Day weekend?  Before I explain what I did, I wanted to talk about what this holiday is all about.  Unfortunately, like many holidays to honor our nation’s heroes, it has become simply a 3-day weekend commercialized with retailer sales and promotions.  Memorial Day is a day to remember and honor all of those who have served our country or are in service right now.  Freedom isn’t free and what these men and women sacrifice is unparalleled in any civilian job.  Thank you to all of our service-people!!

Here are a few more things about the weekend we just had: it’s unofficially summer-time now; we can wear white shoes and white handbags; and yesterday Depeche Mode celebrated their 30th anniversary!  We’ve seen a lot of 30th anniversaries so far this year – 1980 was a very memorable year: the Mt. St. Helens volcano eruption, the Ian Curtis tragedy, Pac-Man, Depeche Mode… and a number of future 30th anniversary dates are sure to be celebrated this year.

On Friday I watched a video an Australian woman added to YouTube and learned how to use my Pearl Ex powders.  I was so happy to finally use them!  They were given to me as a birthday gift – something I had wished to try – but hadn’t figured out how exactly to use them.  I need to pick up some Gum Arabic so I can mix the powder with it and apply it wet next time.  Here is the pretty card I made with Pearl Ex.  I mounted the stamped black paper onto shimmery mint green cardstock.  I wish the picture picked up the shimmery flecks of color on the stamped images:

Pearl Ex Butterfly Birthday Card

Pearl Ex Butterfly Birthday Card

I also made this card with the Punch-Ins technique.  It’s a simple card, and I am happy with the way it came together:

Floral Birthday Card

Floral Birthday Card

On Saturday I figured it was high time I use the embellishments, used post cards, stickers, and other items I forget to use.  In January, I received Copic markers as a belated Christmas gift and I had fun playing with them and coloring in stamped images.  Well, on Saturday I finally used some of those embellishments I had made and it felt good to use what I already had on hand!

Stickers and things to use up

Stickers and things to use up

I started with this post card Nordstrom sent last September for a sale.  I loved the vintage look and knew I would use this someday for something.  I re-used it by turning it into three cards!  Here are the “before” and “after” pictures – click an image to view a larger photo.

BEFORE: Nordstrom post card

BEFORE: Nordstrom post card

AFTER: Re-used & turn it into 3 cards!

AFTER: Re-used & turn it into 3 cards!

Then, I made these additional cards using K & Company dimensional felt stickers, Inchies I had already stamped on, and the CTMH stamped images I’d colored with Copic markers months ago.  I love using shimmery card stock from Paper Zone!  Click any image to make it larger – I wish I could lay the images next to each other rather than below:

Cherry Blossoms Card

Cherry Blossoms Card

"You're a Hoot!" card

"You're a Hoot!" card

Brown & Orange Birthday Card

Brown & Orange Birthday Card

Cheerful Floral Card

Cheerful Floral Card

"There's No One Like You" card

"There's No One Like You" card

"To a Special Friend" card

"To a Special Friend" card

Floral Card w/Bunched Ribbon & Inchies Trio

Floral Card w/Bunched Ribbon & Inchies Trio

Finally, when I was at the Heirloom craft show on May 15th, I made a little video of a neat idea for holding a heat tool at a safe distance.  I use my heat tool for embossing and heat setting stamped images and I keep it plugged in all the time, but the long cord is all over my work space.  I figured this heat tool stand would be a good solution and it looked like something my husband could easily make with scrap wood.  Saturday morning, I showed Jake my 20 second video and he went to the garage and made it for me – just like that!  45 minutes or an hour later, he brought it up to my craft room and I have found that I use it a lot more now.  It’s so much easier to use and I like that I don’t have to hold it.

My new heat tool stand

My new heat tool stand

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 19:27:55

    Love your cards once again…you’re my type of card maker. I like 3-D & embellies :o) Cool heat stand too, have to get my hubby to take a look at that!

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Jun 01, 2010 @ 19:33:14

      Wow, that was FAST – I just posted this and you commented right away. 🙂 If I handed out trophies to the person to read and comment the quickest, you would win! Thanks for reading & for your kind words – I am happy you enjoy my cards. I’d love to see yours – is there a link to view them at your online scrapbook store? The stand was very easy to make and the heat tool is still easily removable if I want to take it out. I’m sure you’ll love it if your husband makes one for you, too.

      Reply

  2. Deborah
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 19:35:57

    lol, I saw your email come and had to see it right away because I like your cards :o) Some of mine are here: http://www.dinglefoot.com/cardmaking-ideas.html I don’t add as many as I should of course…

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Jun 01, 2010 @ 19:44:26

      Thank you! Also, thank you for sharing the link to your beautiful cards! You took a lot of time explaining how to make each one – kudos to you for doing that. If there was a place to comment below each card, I’d let you know my favorites.

      Reply

  3. Deborah
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 19:50:32

    Thanks so much! I try to put one new one on my blog every week on Thursdays: http://site.dinglefoot.com/blog That way you can leave comments 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jayma Malme
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 23:03:34

    Wow, you were busy Stephanie!!! These are beautiful. I wish my hubby were handy, but he’d never in a million years be able to make even that simple stand. (Don’t tell him I said that!) 🙂 Oh, and I can totally tell that the stamped images are shimmery in the picture with the Pearl Ex.

    Reply

  5. Chelle (hanwayink)
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 05:22:34

    wow, look at you go! That’s quite a bunch of cards you got done. Love the pearl-ex butterfly card!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

