A Card Inspired By Clothing

For about a week, I had an idea in my head for a card.  I recently purchased a soft black top with sparkly silver beads on the pocket and edges of the sleeve.  I figured I could take my double-sided Red-Line tape and adhere a line or a pattern to some black cardstock, and then dump silver glitter on it to form a sparkly line.  In 2005, when the family was helping me prepare to sell my Grandma’s house, I came across some old art supplies from when my mom, aunts, and uncle were living in the house.  I saved some vintage “Sparkl-It Non-Tarnish Aluminum Glitter” in a jar, among some other useful art supplies.  I decided to use it when making my card.

Before actually making the card, I was thinking it would be fun to do a checkerboard pattern on a card.  I was flipping through my DCWV paper stacks when I came across some fun black & white 1980’s-looking paper.  This reminded me of one of my best friend’s photos from her Senior photo session in 1990.

So, here are the inspirations for my card:

Black & silver tee

Black & silver tee

Stacy's 1990 Senior Picture

Stacy's 1990 Senior Picture

Here is the finished product – the black and white card I made, inspired by a t-shirt and a friend’s photo.  I think it would work on its side with the buckle at the bottom, but I also really liked it as a portrait length card.  Click on any image to view it larger:

My 1980's Buckle Card

My 1980's Buckle Card

That was fun, and I think I will look for more things to inspire my card-making creativity!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 18:13:31

    Awesome! I love the retro-look 🙂 Hey, what can I say, I grew up in the 70’s and 80’s…

    Reply

  2. Tina
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 19:24:36

    I love it too :). You should totally be a stamp demonstator. I am ready to be done just because I can never find the time except that I have such a nice group of friends that join me.

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Jun 15, 2010 @ 16:02:49

      Thanks – how flattering! I l like just being known as a real estate agent/broker who makes cards for her hobby, but if that changes, I’ll let you know. 🙂 I wish I had lots of crafty friends like you here at home – you’re blessed to have a great group of crafty ladies.

      Reply

  3. Chelle (hanwayink)
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 05:06:47

    looks great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

