This Post Was Sponsored by the Letter A, Number 1 and a Bird!

On Saturday I attended two birthday parties for two sweet little girls who turned one!  They don’t know each other, but they are just 5 days apart in age, and both girls’ names begin with the letter A: Amelia and Avery.  Amelia is my niece and she’ll be one on Saturday, and Avery is a very good friend’s second child, who turned one yesterday.

Amelia’s nursery theme is birds, so when I saw this Hero Arts stamp, I bought it with Amelia’s birthday in mind.  I used it for both girls’ cards and used some new fun flock to make the birds fuzzy.  I also used Glossy Accents to make their wings and hats shiny.  Their eyes were dotted with black Liquid Embossing fluid.  I used ribbon, ink, tabs, paper and markers from Close to My Heart and used the cupcake wheel stamp from Stampin’ Up to decorate the front and backs of the envelopes.

First Birthday Bird Cards

First Birthday Bird Cards

When I was in Las Vegas, Rebecca and Anita wanted to visit a quilt shop called The Christmas Goose.  I’m not a quilter, so they teased me about staying in the car while they shopped, but it was really hot outside so I went in with them.  I was captivated by a really cute felted bird and tree picture displayed right inside.  I had never seen this hobby before: you wash wool felt in hot water to shrink it; trim it to the shapes you want; then hand stitch it together with embroidery floss.  Cool!  I bought the kit and figured this would be perfect for little Amelia’s room.  I don’t have kids yet, and I get confused and boggled in the children’s section of stores – so making something seemed much easier!

I should have taken a picture of the tiny scraps of felt I had to work with.  The kit came with an illustration which was to be a pattern for the felt pieces.  The bird was funny looking, the flowers looked like cracked eggs (ugly) and 24 almond-shaped leaves was too many to cut… so I did  not use the pattern completely.  I “winged it” on the bird (pun intended) and used my Cuttlebug to cut the flowers and leaves.  I was SO HAPPY I learned how to cut felt with the Cuttlebug and I was delighted to find I had a leaf and a pretty flower template in my stash.  Cutting the felt this way saved me so much time!

Here are a few pictures I took of the process:

Felt Bird Project - the cut pieces

Felt Bird Project - the cut pieces

Building the Bird and Tree Scene

Building the Bird and Tree Scene

Here is the finished piece!  I bought a beautiful wooden frame for it and since I decided to add bear stuffing to the bird, it’s too puffy to be framed in glass.  I’m going to have to figure out a way to get it to stay in the frame.

Amelia's Wool Felted Bird Mural

Amelia's Wool Felted Bird Mural

If you haven’t tried this kind of craft before, it’s really easy to do and the kit came with directions that were pretty easy to figure out.  Thanks for reading my post!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Nist
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 20:58:36

    Very cute!! I have been playing with the cricut all week – haven’t tried felt!! Have to add that to my list! 🙂

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Jun 29, 2010 @ 22:45:09

      Thank you! But please do not use felt with your CRICUT. I think it would ruin the cutting mat or make it lose the stick too quickly. Use your Cuttlebug or a similar hand-crank cutting device. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

