Father’s Day Cards

I didn’t really get into card-making until mid-2008.  I had always made invitations to birthday parties, baby showers, wedding showers, dinner parties and wedding invitations & programs – even when I was a teenager.  As an adult, I didn’t find my passion for card-making until last year.

I offer that brief explanation before showing you all the hand-made Father’s Day cards I’ve made, because you’ll see it’s not that many cards.  Last year I finally got my Cricut Expression working properly (I didn’t have the blade dialed down low enough for the first frustrating year I owned it), so I made Father’s Day cards using Cricut DesignStudio.

Here are all the Father’s Day cards I’ve made since taking up card-making.  You can see my cards used to me much simpler:

Father's Day Card for my dad - 2009

Father's Day Card for my dad - 2009

I used the cut-outs from the Dad tag and added Square Stax behind them to make my father-in-law’s card:

Dad Dawson's Father's Day Card - 2009

Dad Dawson's Father's Day Card - 2009

I also made a Father’s Day card for my husband’s grandpa.  I meant to make him a card this year, but I wasn’t feeling well and didn’t have a chance to make one for him ahead of time.  Here’s his ’09 card:

Grandpa Dawson's 2009 Father's Day card

Grandpa Dawson's 2009 Father's Day card

If you read my blog regularly, you’ve already seen this card two other times but I also have to add it to this post.  This is my father-in-law’s 2010 Father’s Day card, using strictly Stampin’ Up! supplies and aluminum foil:

Dad Dawson's 2010 Father's Day Card

Dad Dawson's 2010 Father's Day Card

Finally, here’s the card and envelope I made for my dad this year.  I used parts of the Bits & Pieces card kit and the tie stamp from the June Stamp of the Month from Close to My Heart (CTMH).  I used Glossy Accents to highlight the swirls around the words and the star.  The tiny metal tool came from a set of little tools I bought at Craft Warehouse in Portland, OR.  I tied it onto a silver brad with CTMH natural hemp twine.

Dad's 2010 Father's Day Card

Dad's 2010 Father's Day Card

Thanks for reading my post!  I hope this will give you ideas for next year’s cards… and hopefully whatever I do next year will be more advanced as I learn more techniques.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dad
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 22:20:52

    I’m so fortunate to have such a sweet, wonderful, loving and talented daughter. I LOVE all my cards!

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 17:26:53

      Thanks Papa! *blush* 🙂 I love you and I’m happy you enjoy all your cards. Thanks for saving EVERYTHING I EVER made for you – I hope your insurance covers all that paper in your attic!

      Reply

  2. Lori Haeseler
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 22:41:17

    Stephanie, You are amazing! Your cards are wonderful. You are very talented. You should sell you cards on Etsy. I think you would do very well.

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 17:28:46

      Thanks Lori! That is so sweet of you to say. If I sold cards on Etsy, I’d surely fall behind on making special cards for the people I know. Maybe someday, once I’m caught up on cards and have retired from real estate. 😉

      Reply

  3. Amanda
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 22:43:16

    Love the diamond plating concept on the FIL’s motorcycle card! Too cool! You’re so stinkin’ creative! Love them all. The pop-ups rock!

    Reply

  4. Deborah
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 05:52:47

    Woohoo for the Cricut Expressions! I don’t know what I would do without mine!
    I love the card you made for your dad this year and it’s sweet to see him leave a comment for you too 🙂

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Jul 02, 2010 @ 17:32:51

      Thanks so much – I love that tie stamp! Yeah, the Cricut sure makes tricky cuts look easy. It’s so nice to not be tempted by die cut words or shapes at craft fairs when I can make what I need at home.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

