Punk Rock Girl

This blog post title comes from a Dead Milkmen song I grew up with: “Punk Rock Girl.”  🙂  I have a friend who dresses kind of punk but also really likes Lady Gaga’s music, so when I made her a card I wanted it to be something she’d appreciate.  She loves watermelon flavored Sour Patch candy so I sent her three boxes and a new tooth-brush in case she got excited and ate all of them in one day.  I’m hoping she’ll ration them!

So, here’s the fun, punk- and Gaga-inspired card I made for her.  I used every different kind of black, silver or pink ribbon I could find at home.  I also used some cute cassette tape printed ribbon made by Cosmo Cricket!  The paper is all from DCWV’s Rock Star mat stack.  I used a silver paint pen to highlight the paper edges and added staples, silver brads, sticky silver crystals and a pretty flower my friend Christine made (I’m re-purposing it!):

My Punk Card for Sarona

My Punk Card for Sarona

I glued the top edge and scored it, then colored it with my silver paint pen and punched holes in it with a regular hand hole punch.  I wanted it to look kind of like a school notebook.  Here is the inside, before I added my message – I used stamps from CTMH “Star Power”:

Inside the punk card

Inside the punk card

Here is a card I made for my friend Rebecca.  Early last month we took a trip to Portland, OR and as she made a purchase at every store, she’d ask me for a penny or two.  It was laughable – she cleared out my pennies from my wallet!  So, I thought she’d appreciate this penny card and if she gets desperate, she can peel off the money and use it.  I used some cute Stampin’ Up! paper for the background and used my copper leafing pen to highlight the edges:

Need a penny? Take a penny!

Need a penny? Take a penny!

This is another card I made this week.  Last week, a friend and her husband took me on a cruise ship for a lovely lunch in Seattle’s waterfront.  We had an incredible multi-course meal and toured the cruise ship.  I was happy to use my new Fiskars Boundary Waters punch and I layered the different rows of waved with double-sided foam tape.  The cruise ship was made using the Life is a Beach Cricut cartridge with my Cricut Expression and I used my favorite Modern Label punch from Stampin’ Up! along with a SU! “thank you” stamp.  Making the sky was easy: I cut a cloud shape out of masking paper (it’s a roll paper that’s lightly tacky on the back like a sticky note) and stuck it to my card and pounced a sponge around it after inking it with CTMH’s Heavenly Blue stamp pad.  I simply moved the cloud around and dabbed color over it to make the white stand out:

Cruise Ship Card

Cruise Ship Card

Thanks for reading my post and have a wonderful, fun and safe Independence Day weekend!!  If you’re in Western Washington, check out my list of public fireworks shows in the Puget Sound area.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dad
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 18:04:19

    Wow, Stephanie, you’re amazing. How do you keep coming up with so many ideas?? You must be thinking of all your friends and family all the time.

    Reply

  2. Deborah
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 17:42:25

    Love the penny card…lol, hope you used removable adhesive ;o)
    Wow, that’s a cool way to do the clouds, and even though I’m not a rocker, I always love pink/silver/black combination!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

