A House-Shaped Card for a Special Family

Today I wrote a blog post about a Habitat for Humanity house built for a friend of mine.  You can read about it, if you’d like to learn about the background story for this card: A Habitat for Humanity House, Built With Love.

I enjoy making cards for my clients and friends who buy homes from me.  It’s fun to surprise them with a replica of their new home-made with paper and it’s enjoyable to customize the card with a photo of them in the window, or adding the appropriate Irish Blessing inside the card.  I have just a few more house-related cards to make before sharing a blog post of all my house cards but until then, here is one very special house-shaped card I made for a very special family.

When my friend sent me the appraisal for his Habitat for Humanity house, I was happy to see a picture of the completed house.  Here is the picture I used as a reference for my card:

Here is the House

"Here is the House" 🙂

This is the card I made (I blurred out the last name above the door for privacy).  I remember seeing commercials on TV for Habitat for Humanity and the ad gets emotional when the new home-owner is given her key.  A key in this context is the symbol of home ownership, so I attached an antique key charm to the card:

Habitat for Humanity - House Card for my Friend

Habitat for Humanity - House Card for my Friend

Finally, this is a picture of the happy family and me – notice my friend holding up the key and my card.  🙂  Click the photo if you’d like to see it larger.

Happy New Home-Owners and Stephanie Dawson

Happy New Home-Owners and Stephanie Dawson

Thanks for reading my blog!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 17:09:12

    Completely awesome! What a neat way to welcome them to their new home! I bet those cards always get framed 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jayma
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 21:24:31

    All your cards are so special, and especially your house cards have truly special significance, but this one is off the charts! What an awesome story and so sweet of you to be able to give this family such a meaningful card. I love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

