These Are a Few of My Favorite (Card-Making) Things!

As a regular card-maker, I have several card-making supplies I rely on to make each card.  Even if I make a simple looking card, I have still used a lot of different tools to make the finished product.  This blog post is all about the favorite card-making supplies I use again and again for each card.

I found it easier to tell you about my favorite things with a video, so please check this out:

This is why I love that cardstock SO MUCH – it’s incredibly thick, durable and feels like a “real” card from the store.  Can YOUR cards do this?

Conqueror CX22 Diamond White 118.3# Cardstock!

Conqueror CX22 Diamond White 118.3# Cardstock!

VIDEO RE-CAP: Here are my favorite card-making supplies…

  • Conqueror CX22 Diamond White Cover Sub 118.3# – fancy, uber thick cardstock found at Paper Zone for $33.99 unless you buy it when they have a 40% off sale!
  • My Fiskars 12″ guillotine cutter – I received this as a gift in 2004 and have never changed the blade after hundreds or maybe a thousand cuts.
  • Tonic Studios 5″ x 9″ small paper trimmer – I can cut multiple pages and I always enjoy a sharp, crisp, straight cut.  This smaller one is perfect for working with smaller paper pieces.  It’s very good at cutting 1″ squares.
  • Scotch ATG 714 adhesive runner – this lays down a long strip of permanent adhesive that will never separate.
  • Xyron refillable adhesive runner – I prefer the permanent adhesive refills.  They come 2 to a pack and are very affordable, especially when using a 40% off coupon at JoAnn or Michael’s.  This is the adhesive I used before getting the ATG but I also like taking this small adhesive to crops and card classes instead of lugging the ATG.
  • Scotch double sided foam mounting tape – this is the perfect thickness but if I want more puffiness, I can stack layers together.
  • JudiKins Diamond Glaze – water-based dimensional adhesive for paper, buttons, gems, can be mixed with mica powder and used as a paint, or it can be used to make a glossy accent.  I have made pendant necklaces with it before: I sealed the photos of my niece with layers of this stuff.  Click my link for details on how to get a free sample.  I already received mine and it’s great for taking to crops – it’s a small sample and it has lasted a long time.
  • Bone folder – no, it’s not made of a real bone (right?).  This is a must-have for any card-maker.  A bone folder creases the fold flat and when you scrape it over glued-down paper, it helps the papers to seal together better.
  • Stampin’ Up! Modern Label paper punch – I have a lot of punches but I use this one and a corner rounder all the time.  It is perfect for cutting around a sentiment.
  • Stampin’ Up! paper piercing tool and piercing & eyelet-setting mat pads – the paper piercer, a.k.a. “pokey tool,” is perfect for making a hole for brads to go through the paper, and I also use it to poke decorative holes in paper.  The mats protect my table from getting damaged, and the clear top layer helps me set eyelets evenly.
  • VersaFine Onyx Black stamp pad – I really like the way I get such a fine detail stamped image from this.
  • My custom “Dawson Designs” rubber stamp – I used to stamp my trademark swirl stamp and write “Dawson Designs” around it but that took too long.  Last November, I ordered a custom stamp from www.RubberStamps.net and after my husband cut the giant block of wood down to a more usable size, I have enjoyed using it.  Every stamp I make has my logo on the back.

…AND THESE ARE A FEW OF MY FAVORITE THINGS!

My Favorite Card-Making Supplies

My Favorite Card-Making Supplies

Thanks for reading my blog post! 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terry
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 22:16:41

    Ummmm . . . it is real bone. Sorry to break the news!

    Reply

  2. Rebecca
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 20:48:10

    Love this post! Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

