In Sympathy

July was a difficult month for some of my friends, so I had an opportunity to make a few cards of encouragement or sympathy.  I used some new products and techniques for the cards, so I’d like to share them with you.

This first card was made using ribbon for the flowers.  At the Scrapbook Expo, I bought 7 different yards of ribbon for $3 total and some of the ribbon I selected was a seemingly endless row of little flowers.  All I had to do was snip off a flower from the monochromatic strand and then decide where to place it on my card.  I purchased two of each of the flower ribbon available: bright green, magenta and turquoise.  Next, I added a little button for the center and finally had a chance to use the vine ribbon I got in a grab bag I bought from Impress Rubber Stamps in April.  The sun and sentiment were done with CTMH stamps and I used a decorative brad for the center of the sun.

Card made with ribbon flowers

Card made with ribbon flowers

The next card was made using special white paste and a brass template from The Stencil Collection.  This is the first card I made using these fun new (to me) products I bought at the Scrapbook Expo!  I also used the clear beads in the corners with glitter glue from my Stencil Collection kit.

"Hang In There" frog card - made with a stencil

"Hang In There" frog card - made with a stencil

This final set of cards was made using stamps, ribbon and paper from CTMH plus my Copic markers.   Just like the adult twins I made these cards for, they are similar but look a little different from one another.

"Thinking of You" cards

"Thinking of You" cards

Here are some of the supplies used in my first two cards:

Card supplies

Card supplies

I hope I’ve given you some new ideas for card-making.  Thanks for reading my blog!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 18:13:08

    Thos are just lovely! I like the flower ribbon idea What is the white paste that you used on the frog card?

    Reply

  2. Rashida Jones
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 06:31:10

    I too love the flower ribbon concept. The design of the card is rejuvenating. Keep up the good work.

    Reply

  3. Amanda
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 11:32:55

    Love the burgundy thinking of you cards! Those are pretty! Love the colors and that flower! And, of course, I love the frog card! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

