Cards Made at the “Card Tricks” Class

When I take a card-making class, I enjoy learning new techniques and getting new ideas… but I never quite feel like the cards I make at a class are my own.  Everyone who makes a card at the class will grab slightly different cuts of patterned paper or they will stamp the images a little differently than others.  The cards will all be different – but the same.

The cards I make outside of these occasional classes are designs I come up with in my head 98 percent of the time.  I feel like when I have designed the card, then that is truly my card and I am proud of it.  So, here are some cute cards I made at the Card Tricks class taken at the Scrapbook Expo on July 16th, but I don’t feel much ownership for them. They are cute designs and someday when I make them again from my own supplies, I may feel more like they are mine.

Potted plant card:

Cheerful potted pant card

Cheerful potted pant card

This picture illustrates that if you pull the note card out of the pot, it is a two-piece card:

This is the two-part potted plant card

This is the two-part potted plant card

Here is what the instructor called the “Diaper Fold Card” or the “Chinese Take-Out Card.”

The "Diaper Fold Card"

The "Diaper Fold Card"

This next card is a simple buckle card and I guess all of the writing should take place in that narrow space behind the blue paper on the right.

Belt Card

Belt Card

We used the new-ish 3M Post-It craft paper for this card.  I’ve seen it in stores and it’s much too expensive to buy, but I was happy to try it in this card.  This is called a “spinner card” because the flowers look like they could spin!  It’s just two sides of repositional sticky paper stuck back to back with string in the middle.

Spinner Card

Spinner Card

Well, I hope this post has given you some ideas and as always, thanks for reading my blog post!

Leave a Reply

