How to Save Money Reusing Your Cricut Cutting Mats

When I attended the Scrapbook Expo in Puyallup last month, I was intrigued by a demo a salesman was doing.  He asked if I used a Cricut machine and I said I did.  He did some quick math and told me how much money I am throwing away by replacing my cutting mats.  I threw him off when I explained I buy the two-packs of 12″ x 24″ mats from JoAnn and cut them in half to get four, but he assured me I was still wasting my money.  He demonstrated how to use CC International Stick Away and Stick & Spray products from Crafter’s Companion.  According to him, if I scrape off the old adhesive from my mat and apply a layer of adhesive from a can, I can reuse a Cricut cutting mat and get 50 “new mats” out of each set of aerosol spray.

I paid somewhere between $15 – 17 for the set and last weekend I decided to give it a whirl.  Here is my video showing how easy it is to use.  Does it work?  YES, it does – and it’s REALLY sticky.

Thanks for reading/watching, and… happy crafting, everyone!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayma
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 00:38:00

    What a brilliant idea!!! Thanks so much for sharing AND making a video! You are becoming a vlogging pro 🙂

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:55:51

      Hahaha, thanks Jayma! I was first exposed to why we should vlog a year ago when Gary Vaynerchuk spoke to our real estate conference attendees last August ’09. I got my Flip for my birthday, 6 months later and have gotten more comfortable with each video. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Leah Brass
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 10:03:52

    Keep a count to see how many mats you get! I’d be interested in knowing.

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:53:13

      OK! Update: after just a few cuts I noticed it wasn’t very sticky and my paper moved. The spray can says to mist lightly but I think I went too light. I added another spritz right before laying my paper back down and now it seems fine. So does that count as 1 or 2 mats? 🙂

      Reply

  3. Dawn F
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 14:15:13

    Is this still working for you, Stephanie? I copied a friend on your link so she could see your brilliance! 😉 Thanks for sharing your awesome ideas!!

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 22:33:33

      Hi! It’s working… okay. I haven’t scraped off the first round of goo yet, so when it has started losing its tackiness and the paper slips as the blade cuts through, I stop the machine and unload the paper so I can spray more sticky spray down. I should probably redo it – clean the mat and re-stickify it. My only complaint is that the mat is REALLY sticky and when I put away my scraps of paper, the back is just so sticky that I have to be careful when choosing which side to stick onto the mat later.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

