How to Make my Crispy Pickles

I’ve enjoyed making pickles for the last three years and I’ve learned a few secrets after making so many pickles.  I estimate I’ve pickled approximately 125 jars of cucumbers and I give most of them away to my clients, family members and friends.  This year I did things a little differently and did not process any of the pickles.  It was much easier to make “fridge pickles,” so I now how a refrigerator full of cucumbers pickling.  They are MUCH crisper than processed pickles and rather than waiting 6 months to crack open a jar, these will be ready for consumption in about five days.  I don’t think I will ever make processed pickles again – fridge pickles is the only way to go, if you have the space!

I offered to host a pickle-making party at my house where I would supply the garlic, dill, pickling solution, etc. and guests would bring cucumbers and jars.  Nobody could make my Labor Day weekend date, so I decided to bring the party to the world – I made two videos to demonstrate just how it’s done!  Now everyone can see how I make my crispy, spicy, dill pickles.

I spent about $40 on supplies this year and made 31 jars of pickles.  Now, don’t all go asking me for a jar, please!  These pickles must be refrigerated at all times, so it won’t be as easy for me to give them away as gifts.  I’ll figure out something.  As much as my husband and I enjoy crunchy, spicy dill pickles, we cannot eat 31 jars of them!

VIDEO 1 OF 2:

VIDEO 2 OF 2:

Thanks for reading my blog and if you try my recipe, please let me know how your pickles turned out. 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine David
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 19:50:15

    I am convinced that you are the next Martha Stewart – only far sweeter and no chance of ending up in jail. 😉 Great video(s)!

    Reply

  2. Andy
    May 15, 2011 @ 13:12:21

    Hey there, well done on the video. Now…….when do I get some of those “hot” pickles? :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

