Chocolate Equity

What’s a real estate broker to do in order to celebrate a client’s “house-iversary” when there’s little or no equity in the house?  OFFER CHOCOLATE!!  I love making people feel special and when it comes to a client’s house-iversary (I probably made up that word – I’m known to do things like that), I like to come up with a new way to celebrate it each year.  Sometime I’ll have to do a blog post about the house-shaped cards I’ve made for clients.

I was happy to use my new “Handy Man” Cricut cartridge for the first time.  I bought it because it offered a way to cut a house shaped basket!  Last year when this particular family bought their house, I made them a replica of their new home as a card and featured a picture of them in the front door.  For their first house-iversary, I made them this basket and filled it with chocolate equity a.k.a chocolate gold coins!

A tisket, a tasket, a paper house-shaped basket!

A tisket, a tasket, a paper house-shaped basket!

When I drove out to Issaquah just to deliver this I shouted, “HAPPY HOUSE-IVERSARY!” and was immediately shushed because the baby was sleeping, but that was followed by a huge hug and a tour of the house.  I had a fun impromptu visit with her and after she gave me my empty pickle jars from last year, I headed back to my office in Kent.

Here are the goodies I filled the house with.  Below the chocolates in yellow shredded “sizzle” paper.

Chocolate equity!

Chocolate equity!

When I first made an attempt to take a picture of the paper house basket, my cat hopped onto the table… naughty kitty!

Something is wrong with this picture.

Something is wrong with this picture.

Finally, here is the house without the chocolate:

House Shaped Basket made with the Cricut

House Shaped Basket made with the Cricut

Tell me, does your real estate broker do this kind of stuff for you?  😉  Thanks for reading my blog!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayma
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 17:38:39

    Ok, I wanted to move to Seattle area anyway, but now I want to move there just so you can be my Real Estate Broker 🙂 Haha! This is darling. You are so incredibly thoughtful…your clients are lucky to have you as an agent and a friend who goes the extra mile to genuinely make them feel special. I LOVE your basket…that cricut cartridge was a great buy.

    Reply

  2. Deborah Leaverton
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 11:54:29

    Too cute 🙂 And I think the kitty is a perfect addition to the photo 🙂

    Reply

  3. Anna F
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 15:20:00

    The cat actually is good for size perspective. It seems bigger when it’s by itself. Very cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

