Using Chalk with Stamps for a Soft Effect

I have been on vacation for a few weeks and have missed blogging!  I thought I may have time to write a few blog posts from the road, but after driving 5 – 8 hours almost every day, I was pretty exhausted and did not have any blogging opportunities.

Before I left, I made this birthday card for a special friend of mine.  I wanted to experiment with my Pebbles I Kan’Dee pastel chalk, so I used the “Happy Birthday” stamps from Stampin’ Up! and the “Sonoma Print” stamp from Memory Box with my VersaMark watermark stamp pad.  Then, I used the chalk and the applicator (an alligator jaw on a stick that grabs tiny pom-poms used to dab at the chalk) to add layers of soft color onto my ordinary cream card stock paper.  I dabbed color at the edges of the torn paper and used foamy double-stick tape to make the main image stand out.  I added brad buttons from The Paper Studio (I can only find them at Hobby Lobby stores, which are everywhere but where I live) and smudged chalk ink on the edges of the green card.  My birthday sentiment was off-center, so I drew a heart with glue and dropped some Flower Soft onto it.

Feminine Birthday Card with Chalk

Feminine Birthday Card with Chalk

If you have craft chalk and are considering experimenting with them, go for it!  I was pleased with the soft effect that the chalk added to this feminine birthday card.  Thanks for reading my blog!  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 17:20:39

    Love it! I also have small button brads on my site if you ever need them 🙂

    Reply

    • Stephanie Dawson
      Sep 27, 2010 @ 17:23:20

      Thanks Deborah! Can you beat $4.99 for 120? 😉 I’ve only been blessed with two trips to Hobby Lobby on vacations in the past year. This time I stocked up on button brads and do-dads – unfortunately nothing I bought was on sale.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

