“Happy Thanksgiving!” Cards

I’m not always in the mood to make holiday cards several months before the actual holiday, so it’s pretty typical for me to make only a handful of Thanksgiving cards a few days before the holiday.  Yesterday I finished making six new cards to send, and I pulled out a special card I made at one of Terry Bolender‘s Stamp Camps last year.  These are the seven cards I mailed today and nearly everything I used was a Stampin’ Up! product.  Click any image on my blog for a larger picture.

2010 Thanksgiving Cards

2010 Thanksgiving Cards

I tore the paper around the sentiment on several of the cards and dabbed chalk on the edges of the torn pieces.  I used markers to color the rubber stamp so I could get two colors on my floral and acorn stamps.  I used a marker to draw fine stitches down the sides of this card.

Thanksgiving Card One

Thanksgiving Card One

I used a Fiskars scallop border punch on this card, along with some decorative green and white polka dot tape.

Thanksgiving Card Two

Thanksgiving Card Two

This card took FOREVER!  That giant flower-type image on the right is the result of a very large rubber stamp.  I colored the detailed rubber stamp with markers for ten or fifteen minutes and breathed on it to re-moisten the ink before stamping it.  It did not stamp as evenly and dark as I had planned and I didn’t like it at first… but then I decided it was vintage looking and I liked it a lot more once I added a fun button brad to the center.

Thanksgiving Card Three

Thanksgiving Card Three

I gave up and just inked up the large stamp with one ink pad for this card!  I colored part of the stamped image with markers and added brads and faux-stitching to the sides.

Thanksgiving Card Four

Thanksgiving Card Four

Oh look!  I snuck in something from Close to My Heart!  The little metal green daisy brad is from CTMH.  I used the Fiskars scallop punch again and distressed the edges of the card with my CTMH Cocoa stamp pad.

Thanksgiving Card Five

Thanksgiving Card Five

This turned out to be the easiest and my favorite card.  I added faux stitching and some felt “ribbon” across the bottom.  I had to use 64-cent stamps to mail all of these because I tend to go a little nuts with my foam tape.  I love “popping” cut out stamped images with that foam tape but it makes the card to bumpy for machine cancellation at the post office.

Thanksgiving Card Six

Thanksgiving Card Six

Finally, here is the seventh card.  I made this last year and was saving it for someone special.

Thanksgiving Card Seven

Thanksgiving Card Seven

Thank you for reading my blog post and have a WONDERFUL THANKSGIVING TOMORROW!!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sonny kwan
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 22:28:16

    Always a pleasure to get a hand made card from you Stephanie, Not that I’m expecting a Thanksgiving card from you, Hope your card making takes off and Hallmark or some large company pays you big bucks!

    Reply

  2. gpsjake
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 20:18:04

    Really like the one with the pheasant!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

