Reusing and Repurposing Christmas Cards

I am very sentimental and I do not throw away cards people give me – just ask my husband or my parents and they’ll nod as they recall the boxes of “special Stephanie papers” they’ve helped me move over the years.  This year I got bold and tried something I’ve never done before.  I saved the message from past Christmas cards, and lifted elements from the front of a few cards to re-use for other cards.  This is something I’m sure a lot of creative people do, but it was new to me.  I like to recycle and reuse things, so I was happy that I could make three new cards to send from one pretty card I had received in the past.

These are the three cards I made from the card.  The cards came together so quickly because the embellishments were already done.  I just added a little ribbon, maybe some gems, Stickles glitter glue, a sticker and a fun edge punch… and voila!

I turned one card into three cards!

I turned one card into three cards!

I used cardstock from the DCWV Shimmer Stack to make these cards.  I am hooked on shimmery paper!  You may clack any picture for a larger image.

Reused Gold Christmas Card

Reused Gold Christmas Card

Reused Purple Christmas Card

Reused Purple Christmas Card

This picture doesn’t show the gold edge like the first main picture does, but I thought it would be a good card for my brother, a proud UW Husky Alum.

Reused Star Christmas Card

Reused Star Christmas Card

I encourage you to save your Christmas cards and look at them with a creative eye.  Can you reuse elements from them to make more cards?  How many can you make from just one card?  Stretch yourself and get creative!  🙂  Thank you for reading my blog.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 20:58:45

    These are wonderful! I have another friend that does this. Great ideas 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

