Have a Very Snowy Christmas

Merry Christmas, everyone!   Here are some cards (mainly snowflake cards) I made one weekend with my Cuttlebug and Cricut.

I bought the beautiful Trim the Tree Cricut cartridge with plans to make some beautiful cards.  It tended to be rather frustrating because the intricate details turn out more successfully with a larger sized project.  I tried a few different shapes and when I cut them at a small 2.75″ or 3″ size in height, the blade tore up my paper.  This bell is so large that I can’t mail the card in the matching A-2 envelope.  I’ll have to use a larger size.  Unless I get into scrapbooking or decorating the house with paper shapes, I do not see myself using this cartridge.  What a shame.

I added Stickles glitter glue to highlight parts of the elegant bell.

Green Bell Cricut Card

Green Bell Cricut Card

I dry-embossed red DCWV paper with my Cuttlebug and sanded / distressed the raised image to expose the white paper core.  I used my new Sizzix Sizzlits Basic Grey snowflake die in my Cuttlebug to cut some cardstock snowflakes and enhanced them with a crystal rhinestone and Stickles glitter glue.

Dry Embossed Snowlake Card

Dry Embossed Snowflake Card

Here’s another interpretation of the card.

Red and Green Snowflake Card

Red and Green Snowflake Card

I finally used my delicate snowflake stickers!  I had been intimidated by them because they are difficult to peel away without stretching.  Now that I have some special adhesive paper designed to transfer these stickers, I can move them onto my project without tearing or warping the image.  You can’t see it, but I outlined the teal DCWV brand paper with Stickles glitter glue.

White and Teal Snowflake Card
White and Teal Snowflake Card

I finally used a snowflake eyelet I’d had for over a year.  I used another detailed snowflake sticker and embossed an image I stamped with a CTMH clear acrylic stamp.

Teal and Silver Snowflake Card

Teal and Silver Snowflake Card

I love this color combo!

White and Light Blue Snowflake Card

White and Light Blue Snowflake Card

I got bold and used a large silver foil snowflake sticker to make this simple card.  I added a crystal rhinestone to the center for some added “bling.”

 

Silver Snowflake Card

Silver Snowflake Card

Here’s a difficult-to-photograph navy blue card with a metallic foil sticker and some freehand wisps of Stickles glitter glue.  This card looks terrible in this photo!!

 

Falling Snowflake Card

Falling Snowflake Card

As always, thank you so much for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

