A Christmas Centerpiece… and My New Light Box!

Here is a Christmas centerpiece, place holder or favor for guests made from vellum and cardstock!  Terry Bolender showed me how to make this with Stampin’ Up! Products last month.  I used her Big Shot tool to cut out the gold scalloped square shape (for the base of the tree) and the box; then I used her circle punch to cut out a hole for the battery operated candle.  I traced a pyramid box pattern onto vellum cardstock (a really cool heavy-duty vellum!) and cut it out and scored it after stamping and clear embossing the green image.  I used the large star punch to cut out the top part of the tree and attached it with a pretty brad.

I wasn’t sure which picture to use because Jake made me a photo light tent/box for Christmas and I was testing the photography.  Thank you, Jayma Malme, for telling me about how to make a light box for photography!  I was using my new Ott light but the lighting is so blue!  I am shining the light directly at the image because it doesn’t get through the cardstock sides of the light box very well.  Here’s what I am talking about.

This is how my blog pictures normally look.  Can you tell the star is gold cardstock?  Uh, me, neither!

 

Christmas Tree Centerpiece - without the light box

Christmas Tree Centerpiece - without the light box

 

Now here is the same object in my new light box, with the light coming from the left through the cardstock walls.

 

Christmas Tree Centerpiece - in the light box

Christmas Tree Centerpiece - in the light box

 

Here it is again with the light shining head on the object.

 

Christmas Tree Centerpiece - in the light box, light head-on

Christmas Tree Centerpiece - in the light box, light head-on

 

This will need tweaking – I think the light box needs thinner wall covers, and after look at this post I realized I am supposed to put the cardstock base all the way at the top of the light box so there’s no ugly seam behind my object.  Anyway, I am happy I have this light box and I hope to have some better quality photos for my blog now!  This is the light box contraption:

 

My Homemade Light Box for Photography

My Homemade Light Box for Photography

Which photo do you think looks best: 1, 2, or 3?  Happy holidays, and thanks for reading my blog!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gpsjake
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 22:51:45

    That centerpiece is cool! Good job.

    Reply

  2. Rebecca
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 21:15:05

    Wow, that’s enlightening!! 🙂 The light box really helps. I think photo 3 is probably the truest representation. You can even make out the raised embossing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

