Depeche Mode SOTU Cards

I’m a music-lover, so some of my cards reflect that.  This is a warning – if you aren’t interested in Depeche Mode, the next few days’ blog posts may bore you.  😉  I’ve been saving up some Depeche Mode cards and crafts to share when the time was right and now that the holidays are ending, I’ve decided the time is now!

After meeting many special friends face to face for the first time (we’d either met on Twitter, Facebook or met for the first time when I flew to California in October to see several Recoil shows), I was inspired to create some special cards for them.

I found a familiar photo from Depeche Mode’s Songs of the Universe album and played around with it to make eight similar cards for my friends.  I started by printing it out several times on cardstock and then I cut out several Daves (Dave Gahan, front man).  I shared this picture on Facebook as a teaser to my friends – an army of Daves!  Click any picture to make it larger.

An Army of Daves

An Army of Daves

Here are more cut-outs of the boys from Basildon:

Plural Daves, Martins and Andys!

Plural Daves, Martins and Andys!

Then I began to assemble the card and distressed the edges with a black soot ink pad to make the card look grungy. Each card had three layers, built up with double-sided foam mounting tape.

Assembling the Universe

Assembling the Universe

Next, I added the final layer – Dave with his silver wings.

Almost done!

Almost done!

I used Glossy Accents to make Dave’s sunglasses look shiny and raised up – a touch of even more dimension!

Even closer to being done!

Even closer to being done!

This shows a close-up of the layers:

Layers of Depeche Mode

Layers of Depeche Mode

I made two variations of the card.  At first, Dave Gahan, Martin Gore and Andrew Fletcher all had wings, but Andy’s and Martin’s wings were covered by Dave’s too much, so most of the cards ended up with only Dave getting the silver wings.  Here are two of the versions of my cards.  You’ll notice I added metal eyelets at the top to finish off the look:

Angels with Silver Wings

Angels with Silver Wings

Dave with Silver Wings

Dave with Silver Wings

Here are all eight cards in a row before I mailed them all over the universe!

My Eight Handmade SOTU Cards

My Eight Handmade SOTU Cards

If you enjoyed this post, you may also like some of my other DM-related posts:

Cards Inspired by Depeche Mode

More Depeche Mode-Related Cards

A Very Happy Birthday Card

or simply search (to the right) by blog post category and check out the posts about Depeche Mode & Music.

Thanks for reading my blog, and may the Mode be with you!   HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Hector
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 08:38:28

    We love ours! Thank you so much Stephanie for sharing your devotion, talent and enthusiasm…”To put it in words, to write it down…that is walking on Hollowed Ground.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

