An Owl Card for My Letter-Carrier

Have you ever made a card for your letter-carrier (“mailman”)?  I have made at least three cards for mine because she is a very kind person and she has saved me a number of times.  I make and mail about 800 cards each year and sometimes I guess what the postage would be, rather than take a trip to the post office.  My letter carrier graciously pays the difference in the postage I am missing and mails my cards out on time, rather than cancelling the postage and returning them to me.  The next day, she places an envelope in my mailbox with a receipt and a request for me to drop in the change to pay her back.  How nice is that!?

To demonstrate my gratitude, I make her little cards that fit inside the Postage Due envelope.  When I was on an owl card kick, I made this one for her using Pearl Ex powders and stamps from CTMH and Inkadinkado.

 

Owl "I'm Sorry" Card

Owl "I'm Sorry" Card

 

I love the jewel stamps and wanted to match that effect by using shimmery Pearl Ex powders over my Versamark stamped images.  Now that I look at this card, I realize I should have added some crystals to the owls eyes and to a few other places.  Oh well.  I am definitely my Grandma B.’s grand-daughter, pointing out my mistakes.  😉

Thanks for reading my owl card blog post, whooooooooo-ever you are!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina moss
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 05:56:52

    You are so thoughtful! And I do the same thin pointing out mistakes. It actually wasn’t a mistake. Just think of it as an idea to add to your next project. Good idea though :). Cute stamps too.

    Reply

  2. Stephanie Dawson
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 14:22:26

    Thanks, Tina! 😀

    Reply

  3. Deborah
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 15:03:09

    That’s such a nice thing that she does that for you. Bet she loved the cute card 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

